Harbir Sidhu off to Junior World Cup

Posted by Vancouver Island Field Hockey Association (Men) on Oct 27 2016 at 10:30AM PDT in season 2016-17

Vancouver, BC – With just over one month to go before the 2016 International Hockey Federation (FIH) Men’s Hockey Junior Hockey World in Lucknow, India, Field Hockey Canada has named its 18-man Under-21 team slated to compete at the tournament from December 8-18, 2016.

Cracking the list is Victoria’s Harbir Sidhu, a midfielder who has spent time with both the University of VIctoria Vikes and the local Tigers field hockey club. Sidhu was a member of the Hockey 5s Canadian squad that won silver at the Youth Olympic Games in 2014. Victoria forward Josh Brown was named an alternate for the squad.

The roster features two players, defender Brandon Pereira and midfielder Balraj Panesar, who will be playing in their second Junior World Cup. Both competed in the 2013 Junior World Cup.

The team is comprised of 13 players, including Pereira and Panesar, who represented Canada at the 2016 Junior Men’s Pan American Championship in May in Toronto, where the Canadians captured silver and qualified for the Junior World Cup.

Five new players join the Canadian roster for the Junior World Cup. They include goalkeeper Angus Grauer, defender Gavin Bains, midfielders Parmeet Gill and Rowan Childs, and forward Michael Mackenzie.

The Junior World Cup consists of 16 teams in four pool. Canada has been drawn into Pool D, where it will compete with England, India, and South Africa.

For Canada’s competition schedule, which begins with a match against host India on December 8, click here. For full event details, click here.

2016 Canadian Men’s Junior World Cup Team
Amrit Sidhu – Abbotsford, BC (Forward)
Angus Grauer – Vancouver, BC (Goalkeeper)
Balraj Panesar – Surrey, BC (Midfielder)
Brandon Pereira – Surrey, BC (Defender)
Fin Boothroyd – West Vancouver, BC (Forward)
Floyd Mascarenhas – Mississauga, ON (Defender)
Ganga Singh – Toronto, ON (Defender)
Gavin Bains – Ladner, BC (Defender)
Harbir Sidhu – Victoria, BC (Midfielder)
Iqwinder Gill – Surrey, BC (Goalkeeper)
Jamie Wallace – Vancouver, BC (Midfielder)
Kabir Aujla – Surrey, BC (Forward)
Michael Mackenzie – White Rock, BC (Forward)
Parmeet Gill – Brampton, ON (Midfielder)
Rajan Kahlon – Vancouver, BC (Defender)
Rohan Chopra – Ottawa, ON (Forward)
Rowan Childs – Tsawwassen, BC (Midfielder)
Thomson Harris – Vancouver, BC (Forward)

Canada’s reserve athletes are: Josh Brown (Forward – Victoria, BC), Sahib Suri (Midfielder – Surrey, BC), Satbir Brar (Defender – Surrey, BC), and Tarjan Sandhu (Forward – Surrey, BC).

The Canadian coaching staff is as follows:
Inderpal Sehmbi – Head Coach
Geoff Matthews – Assistant Coach
Scott Sandison – Assistant Coach
Alicia Carey – Team Manager
Paul Bundy – Video Analyst

Photo: Yan Huckendubler


There are no comments for this announcement.